Hurray! Hurray! Spring is here!!

 There is light at the end of the tunnel, goes an English saying. After one of the coldest winter season ever experienced in 60 years’ time in Norway, Spring is finally here with us. Norway has four distinct seasons, Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter. This week has been a beautiful week in Kristiansand! All bright and warm, spectacular is the word! With temperatures at 13ºC, I am in high spirits and so are most Norwegians who have been waiting for the Spring with a lot of excitement!
Nude park in the Summer

Spring is here

I walked to work this morning and all I could hear are the birds singing in joy, after coming back from Africa. I am told they are happy to be back home, this is where they belong. The morning sun shined bright in Norway, I didn’t overdress today, just one jacket and I walked to and from work without my gloves on.

Last night was already sampling my shoes ready for Spring. Hurray, no more winter boots, I have actually taken them to the store in the basement! So with my sneakers on, I fell really comfortable and excited about the rest of my stay here. Soon I will be on my open shoes!

Many of us have been anticipating great spring with various travelling plans; of course this is the best part for me. I get to see Norway more, without worrying about the cold weather. I already have a travel filled schedule ahead of me and I can’t wait for a road trip soon with my girlfriends from Kristiansand through Stavanger to Bergen.

I am informed Spring is usually fairly short in Norway, starting in late March and lasting through May. There are quite a number of visible things happening. The naked trees will soon be clothed again.

Beautiful Oslo in the Summer

“ Be on the look-out, soon you will see flowers peaking up through the newly melted soil, reaching for the sun while the birds are chirping happily in the budding trees. Then the country goes green again. We love these seasons, I am sure you do not have the same in Kenya” said a friend.

Of course in Kenya we do not have the same. Only in the deserts we have dry trees. Only on mountain tops we have snow. We do not get admitted because of falling down on the snow or icy roads. We do not get winter depression or become gloomy because of the weather changes! We have friendly weather and therefore we remain friendly all year through!

Mail forward”

I read this mail forward from a friend and thought, interesting; it might have some truth in it. “Once upon a time in the kingdom of Heaven , God was missing for six days. Eventually, Michael the archangel found him, resting on the seventh day. He inquired of God. “Where hast thou been?” God took a deep sigh of satisfaction and proudly pointed downwards through the clouds, “Look, Michael. Look what I hast made!”  

All greeny!

Archangel Michael looked puzzled and said, “What is it?” “It’s a planet,” replied God, “and I’ve put Life on it. I’m going to call it Earth and it shall be a great place of balance.” “Balance?” inquired Michael, still confused. God explained, pointing to different parts of earth. “For example, northern Europe will be a place of great opportunity and wealth while southern Europe is going to be poor. Over there I’ve placed a continent of white people and over there is a continent of black people,” God continued pointing to different countries. “This one will be extremely hot while this one will be very cold and covered in ice.” 

 The Archangel, impressed by God’s work, then pointed to a land in the Eastern part of Africa and said, “What’s that one?” “Ah,” said God. “That’s Kenya the most glorious place on earth. There are beautiful beaches, mountains, streams, hills, and water falls. The people from Kenya are going to be very handsome, modest, intelligent and humorous and they are going to be found traveling the world holding good jobs. They will be extremely sociable, hardworking and high-achieving, and they will be known throughout the world as diplomats and carriers of peace, play football and going to the Olympics.” Michael gasped in wonder and admiration but then proclaimed, “What about balance, God? You said there would be balance!!!” God replied wisely, “Wait until you see the idiots that will run their government.

Sounds familiar? Great wealthy in Europe but come winter time they flock to different countries for warmth. What about Kenya and Kenyans, that’s the typical situation. As Spring and Summer sets in, it is all new world for me.

Land of the Mid-night Sun

Sight seeing Oslo

“You should visit the Northern part of Norway, they experience midnight sun – that means that the sun shines night and day, but there is no sunshine at all during winter. Once I was in Helgeland and the sun was shining in the middle of the night even at 3:00am in the morning. It is amazing and people operate with clocks all the time because you can´t use the weather to tell the time of day or night as would you do in Africa,” said Ingrid!

Typical activities in Spring and Summer include hiking in the mountains, boating, fishing, mountain climbing; rock climbing; sightseeing, horseback riding in the mountains; skiing, ski sailing, playing golf; swimming; or just lazing around. Soon airports, train and bus stations will be buzzing with busy travelers visiting Norway. You can be assured I plan to make maximum use of this rebirth, finally there is light at the end of the tunnel!

Do enjoy your weekend!!

Leave a Reply

