I choose to celebrate my life!!

Birthday cake!

Gift of life

16th December, a baby girl is born.  For me, I think of this day, just the way I celebrate Christmas. I thank God for the gift of life and another chance to add a year unto my life! It has been snowing in Norway and as the snow melts down, this is always a very scary moment for many people. Many hospitals at such a time report increased cases body fractures especially the legs and the arms as a result of people having fallen on the slippery grounds. I struggle to make it to the office, I am so scared of walking lest I fall down.  I take almost an hour to make it to the office, baby steps with a lot of concentration.

By the time I get to the office, I feel so tired, very exhausted and all I want is to sit down and stare. Minutes later my boss who is also my colleague says, “ Birthdays are very special and so are birthday babies, so you get pure Norwegian Chocolates for your birthday, you only get these on very special occasions,” he says as he hands me a box of chocolates. I am so excited. More and more presents my way, and this birthday girl feels energetic once more!

I slept with my inbox at 0 only to wake up and find it with 130 Facebook notifications, my  mobile phone all over a sudden gets busy, then I recognise that, this must be love and birthday wishes coming my way. Someone said, “If we must appreciate the fruits of life, then we must first appreciate the tree that bears the fruit: birth itself”. When I find people accusing me for loving parties and always looking for a reason to hold parties, I am always lost of words. I wish they would once understand my reasons for celebrating, whatever it is that I decide to celebrate in my life.

December baby

Birthday for me, is a special day, extremely special in my heart and wish I could always get a chance to celebrate it with family and friends. Last year I celebrated my birthday in an exam room and promised myself to celebrate this year´s. My birthday falls in December and I remember my childhood days, my dad would say “You do not need a cake, we will celebrate Christmas and we will celebrate your birthday as well. Then, you have a new dress as a gift.” Of course that was convincing enough keeping in mind that I am the only child in our family who celebrates her birthday in December. The rest were unfortunate I would say, because they were always in school during their birthdays.

At GSJC Jolubor!

As time went by and I grew older, I have found more meaning to my birthday and the more reason to treasure it. I think of my birthday as a time to reflect on my life in a new perspective altogether.  It is a moment that I spend being thankful for what I have in life and what I have accomplished.

26 years back as I made a grand entrance into this world, it was a chance of a lifetime, a chance to fulfill a unique purpose, live my life and passion, and therefore as a nation celebrates it´s independence, or a company celebrates it´s founding, I choose to celebrate my birthday.

It is a chance to remember the day that a major event occurred, to celebrate and give thanks to God and to my parents, and for me to reflect upon fulfilling my calling. It is much more than receiving gifts and the many birthday wishes. Of course, I love them and they make it complete.

Joy of life

I look at a birthday as a time to celebrate birth itself, the joy of life. It is also an occasion to rethink my life. How great is the disparity between what I have accomplished and what I can accomplish? Am I spending my time properly or am I involved in things that distract me from my higher calling? How can I strengthen the thread that connects my outer life and my inner life?

Just like new year which comes 15 days after my birthday, I think of it as an event that reminds me about the concept  rebirth. Birthdays ushers one into a new beginning, no matter how things were last year, it´s all gone and we have the capacity to try again and energize ourself, pick up our broken pieces and move on.  A chance for regeneration, and more important for me spiritually, making it my best reason to have a thanksgiving celebration with my family and friends, to thank God for the far He has brought me.

Birthday presents!

This year has been unique in its own way, with ups and downs, have cried and wiped my tears and on the other hand it has given me great joy and happiness that has seen me smile with great laughter. All these, have taught me to be strong and become a better woman. I am celebrating an addition to my many years, because my inner goodness, my soul, wants to express it´s thanks for being born and alive. This, I believe is such an act of kindness that gives God great pleasure, because He sees that the child in whom He invested, the particular child he wanted born on 16th December, is living up to her potential. I hope too, that my parents back at home, have a great joy as they remember the true experience of birth, beginning of a meaningful life.

A complete birthday

Even as I celebrate my birthday away from my family, my friends in Norway  have made it complete. With cakes shared with my colleagues at NRK as well as colleagues at the Gimlekollen School of Journalism and Communication Christmas party, gifts, surprises and of course overwhelming birthday wishes on my Facebook page, I realise it is a start to a new beginning. For the first time, instead of anxiously waiting for a message or a call from my parents, I did it the reverse, I called them to appreciate their unconditional love for me, the many years they have been in my life. This is why I choose to celebrate my life and the start of a new year. To you all, thankyou for being part of my life and making it of substance.

Merry Christmas and a blessed new year!!

2 thoughts on “I choose to celebrate my life!!

  1. Happy belated birthday dear. Hiyo keki imenifanya nkatokwa na mate kweli. By the way, when did you join Facebook, Omotto told me ulisema never. Hebu nitafute and send a request.

    1. Thanx for the birthday wishes!! Ha ah aha!! In life, nothing is permanent and flexibility is key!! Just didn’t have time then for fb, there was too much on my side then, now I can handle it and very active indeed!! Will send you a friend request soon!

Leave a Reply

