Take away everything but my beer!!!

Arne Berg!

Has it ever happened to you and how does it make you feel? When someone cracks jokes and makes me laugh alone, it makes me feel very silly as well as doubt my sense of humour. This is what he does best, and looks at you strangely as if to ask, what are you laughing at? Where is the joke? At first he makes you believe that he can do without food as long as there is beer and more beer. He refers to himself as the heavy drinker from the far North, whatever that means.

He is just another guy from the next door, just your ordinary friend. He is a radio personality and he has a passion for what he does. This is an exclusive interview, just to unveil who is Mr. Arne Berg sounds like money bag, right? He tells me all his answers have to be accompanied by links to prove their validity. Take time to follow the links too.

1.Who is Arne Berg?

A guy from the far North (Tromsö, actually, you’ll find it just a pout at the Northern end of your World map – look it up!), who moved to Oslo (almost as far North) back in 82. Brought with me a taste for life’s best sides (good food, good wine, cold beer, a good laugh, true love and, of course and always, music). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troms%C3%B8

2.You have one child, right?

Yep, 10-year-old boy, but hey, sometimes one child sounds like a whole population. Which he often does. Him? Energetic and handsome, like his father, with beautiful eyes and a brilliant mind, like his mother, who, luckily, is my wife. We celebrated 12 years anniversary last Sunday, as it happens. Africans always ask me-why one child and my response -Why two?

Arne Berg

3. What do you do for a living?

I am host and reporter for the global music show Jungeltelegrafen (Saturday at 1400Hrs) at Norwegian Broadcasting’s Radio P2, together with Sigbjörn Nedland. Mainly, we are two white guys from Norway covering music of all colours from all over the world. I’ve been doing this for,Oh, My God!, 25 years now, the first 12 alone in local radio and a National music mag in Norway, before checking in at NRK around the year 2000 and hooking up with Sigbjörn in 2004. With the job comes nice things like travelling (I love travelling), festivals (I love festivals) and concerts (I love concerts) and a truck load of records (my wife hates records, they fill up the house. iPod is THE thing, she say, but I love records).

  1. Homepage: http://www.nrk.no/programmer/sider/jungeltelegrafen/
  2. Reviews: http://www.nrk.no/kultur_og_underholdning/1.6444537
  3. Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jungeltelegrafen/172692579351

4. What do you like most about being a radio presenter?  

I love telling stories and I love music. The combination is perfect (and music is, anyway, my biggest source to understanding the world. I think my work is a slow way of testing out my sentiments about the world on innocent listeners).

 

Sigbjorn and Arne!

5. What lesson about your childhood do you remember so dearly that could have shaped who you are today? 

Be yourself. Don’t respect authority. Find your own solution. And music, always music. I think these are lessons taught by my parents that stays with me. And respect women! My mother was a fierce feminist.  

6. What has been the best part of your life this far?  

Definitely right now. My marriage, my kid and my work. Life’s great.

  
7. Any dark moments of your life and how you managed to overcome or handle that?   

There were personal hardships when I was a teenager, which had to do with me being unsecure and a bit of an outsider. It took years, but confidence is built from within, and before that, my parents gave me all the love and security I could ever ask for. And, Jeez, I’m born in the middle class in bleeding Norway, ain’t I? I hate people who spend their life whining about all the misery. Unless they live in utter misery. I’ve met some of those, and they never wine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_Development_Index

8. What other things don’t people know about you? 

 The most surprising thing is usually when I tell people that I work out, pretty heavy, twice a week.  People are not that surprised when I tell them that I love to travel. It’s kind of obvious, my wife just calls me Uncle Travelling Mac. I’m a great skier (should be, shouldn’t I?) and (surprise,surprise!) I don’t drink as much as I pretend to…

Arne Berg!

http://www.chimay.com/ (probably the best beer in the world)

 9. Are you a celebrity? 
 No. Not even almost. None of our listeners would recognize me on the street (happens, though, that I’m being recognized by my voice. Always nice.)
 
10. Any plans for the future?

Hope to go to Sauti za Busara in Zanzibar again next February, and will go to South by Southwest in Austin, Texas in March, for the first time ever. Really excited about that, of course, am hoping to manage Istanbul and Bogota for our show, too, before too long. On the long-term, my wife and I are hoping for Festival au desert in Mali and visiting Irkutsk in Russia before too long.  No other plans, whatsoever, than keeping healthy, staying married and travel a lot, especially with my family. And yes, Kenya is definitely high on my list.

  1. http://www.busaramusic.org/festivals/2011/index.php
  2. http://sxsw.com/music
  3. http://www.festival-au-desert.org/
  4. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irkutsk
  5. http://www.freemuse.org/sw363.asp (the pic here taken at Freemuse’ world congress in Istanbul in 2006)
  6. http://www.la-33.com/ (these guys promised me to show every little bit of Bogotá to me)

Did you find yourself laughing at any of his answers, did you????? Be assured he didn´t find any of his answers funny and that why I said earlier on, he makes me laugh and leaves me feeling silly.

Have a lovely weekend, won´t you??

Leave a Reply

